Jupiter Transit through the 12th House

The Twelfth House

I started this blog to try and navigate through astrology and the transits that are happening to me at this time. They continue to move through and it can sometimes feel like time is flying, and sometimes feel like it’s never going to stop!

My most recent fascination has been with the 12th house. Over the last 6 months or so, Jupiter has been moving through my 12th. I also have my natal Jupiter in the 12th. So when Jupiter acts as a megaphone, amplifying and enlarging, when it hits natal Jupiter, it really gets big.

I’ve found that in the last year or so, I really have been tired. Exhausted. Like I want to crawl into bed and not get out. It feels a little bit like depression, but more like healing from a cold. Your body can give you a cold when you burn the candle at both ends, to make sure you get adequate rest and recharge your batteries.

Also, I am a cancer sun, so the idea of retreating into a nest and recharging is VERY comforting to me. For many people, slowing down & reflecting can be awful, for others it’s a relief and energizing.

When Jupiter was about to enter my 12th, I really hit the rest & relaxation phase hard. I didn’t exercise, I slept in on the weekends, I played bejeweled on my phone,  I watched a lot of movies and ate comfort food. Then a few months later, I started thinking about my life, who I am and what I want to change.

I’ve taken an interest in many studies over the last few months that I would connect with the 12th house. Astrology, psychology, hypnosis, handwriting analysis, yoga, meditation. All of these things have always been an interest to me, but now they feel amplified. I feel like I have a hole in my life, and need to fill it up with some sort of spiritual practice, and to ask myself some spiritual questions.

I also have natal Mercury in my 12th house, so this makes sense! The curiosity, questions, and writing come easy to me. I enjoy getting in to that deep communication between myself, my subconscious, the larger collective, and spirit. Starting this blog is just about exactly when Jupiter is crossing over my natal Mercury in the 12th. (Sidenote: Jupiter & Mercury are also in Gemini in the 12th – so double that Mercury energy.)

Now that I have started asking myself these spiritual questions, what’s next?

My Sun is within one degree of my Ascendant. It is technically in my 12th house, but so close to the first, that I oscillate between a 12th house Sun & a 1st house Sun. My Ascendant & Sun are just past the Gemini/Cancer cusp, both in Cancer. I’ve read that a person with a Sun in the 1st house has presence, has a strong image, is a leader, and innovator. The shadow side of this is that they can be self-centered, prideful, or obsessed with self-image. The Sun in the 12th house can be compassionate, introverted, and avoid the spotlight. The shadow side of the 12th can be feeling alone, lacking individuality, and even a personality that can turn to drinking & drugs!

So what the heck does that mean? A Sun in the 12th and a Sun in the 1st seem like polar opposites. Where is that middle ground?

As I prepare for Jupiter to cross over my Sun & Ascendant, I am trying to prepare for this moment. I think that secretly, I am hoping it will be a blossoming event. I am hoping that when Jupiter enters my first house, it will give me energy, light, joy, and good luck! (Crossing my fingers…).

Another thing I have been looking at in my chart is when this happened to me the last time in my life. Sometimes you only get one pass at a transit in your life (or never), and some transits you get quite a few tries at. If astrology is about learning life lessons, then what did I learn last time?

Last time Jupiter crossed over my Ascendant/Sun, I was in the 7th grade. It was 1989-1990. My Sun/Ascendant is at about 4 degrees Cancer. Jupiter transited over that spot in August 1989 & then turned retrograde & crossed over in January 1990. Then it turned direct and crossed over again in April 1990. Just about the first 3/4 of my 7th grade school year.

So, like any kid in Junior High, you sort of come of age. In my neighborhood, 6th graders went to Elementary, and 7th & 8th graders went to Jr. High. I had spent 1st-6th grade at the same Elementary school. I had the same friends that I pretty much knew in 1st grade. We all knew each other and there wasn’t a whole lot of drama or stress in Elementary school.

In 7th grade, I went to a new school, and a couple of friends, including my best friend, went to a different Jr. High. So for me, this was pretty scary! It was exciting and fresh and I felt like a new person. I actually retreated a bit, and became a little more introverted. I was out of my element!

I learned a lot about myself in that time period even though it was scary at that time. It’s funny to think about the transits of Jupiter on a larger scale. If you track every 6-7 years as it crosses over your Ascendant or Descendant, you’ll see some pretty big changes.

6 years before I made that fateful leap into Junior High, I moved with my family to a new town. And 6 years before that, I was born. I am starting to see a pattern. So where was I 6 years ago? Technically it was less than 6 years, but that is when I moved out of my comfort zone (with roommates) and in to my current home with my husband (we weren’t married yet).

So with that in mind, my new motto will be: “Welcome to Junior High!”

Ha!

 

Leave a comment